The Best Heirloom Tomato Salad Ever!

It’s been a long, cold and generally miserable winter here in New Jersey.  But the worst is behind us and after a brief Spring, we’re heading full throttle into Summer.  And I can’t wait!

The Critters Buffet!

All I can think about right now is planting my vegetable garden.  I’m still a bit of a novice in the vegetable gardening department but I’m persistent if nothing else.  Trouble is we live right next door to a woods.  Very pretty and tranquil, but home to a variety of very hungry critters who enjoy popping over to my house for the all-you-can eat buffet that I diligently lay out for them every year. But this year I think I’ve finally figured out the fencing, so I’m hoping for a bumper crop.

On the menu this year?  Heirloom tomatoes and as many kinds as I can fit into the fairly small space I have crammed my garden into.

Do you want to grow your own tomatoes but not sure how?  Click here for some good information.  For staking tomato plants, I use these stacking tomato ladders.  Completely hassle-free.

That's not me. It's the advert, which is not a product placement, but a highly recommended suggestion.

Last year I found the most incredible tomato salad dressing.  It’s so good, that often my beloved and I would make a platter of tomatoes, douse them in the dressing and with a hunk of really good artisanal bread, we called this dinner.  This recipe today comes from one of my favorite recipe sources, the Food52 Blog, from the writers of the The Essential New York Times Cookbook.

So, without further ado I give you:

Heirloom Tomato Salad with Capers and Golden Balsamic Vinegar

(Recipe Source:  Food52 Blog)

SERVES 4 TO 6

2 pounds assorted heirloom tomatoes, cut into 1/2-inch-thick wedges

1 small clove garlic, sliced

1 teaspoon coarse sea salt

1 tablespoon salt-cured capers, rinsed

2 tablespoons golden balsamic or sherry vinegar

1 tablespoon extra-virgin olive oil

1 tablespoon fresh thyme leaves (whole)

Freshly ground pepper

Arrange the tomatoes on a large plate or small platter. Put the garlic on a cutting board, pour the salt over the garlic and chop together until the garlic is cut into very small pieces and the salt begins to dissolve slightly. Put the capers in a small bowl and mash lightly with a fork. Add the garlic mixture and stir together. Add the vinegar and olive oil and mix well. Pour over the tomatoes. Sprinkle with the thyme and pepper.

[Note: I've only ever used Sherry Vinegar for this recipe and I can tell you it doesn't disappoint.  But this year I'm promising myself to try it with the Golden Balsamic......mmmmmmmm]

From this harvest.....


To Dinner!


12 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Being Sarah
    May 03, 2011 @ 16:29:14

    Yum! I LOVE tomatoes, I LOVE balsamic (not seen golden before), I LOVE garlic, capers, olive oil… heck I’m gonna LOVE this dressing! Thanks for all the useful links.

    Reply

  2. nancyspoint
    May 04, 2011 @ 14:59:27

    Yes, it has been a long winter and an almost non-existent spring around here. One day soon I think it will just be HOT. Sounds like a great recipe which I will keep in mind for later since I want to try to grow some tomatoes this year. Our yard has very little sun too, but I gotta find some little patch somewhere.

    Reply

  3. Ruthie
    May 05, 2011 @ 06:40:29

    Very appetising, I love the makeup of the dressing, definitely food fit for the Gods!

    Reply

  4. Rachel @ Dog Island Farm
    Aug 20, 2011 @ 10:26:47

    So do you know the Huffington Post is linking to you in an article about how us self reliant, awesome women are actually girly and anti-feminist? I thought I’d just give you a heads up.

    Reply

  5. Trackback: Tough Girls « Can-Do Women
  6. Shelli G.
    Aug 22, 2011 @ 04:25:55

    Wow, did you get some great discussion going on the huffington post article! You go, girl!

    And now I’ve found this blog as well. beautiful heading color and design. I love it.

    Shelli G. from The Dirty Pink Underbelly

    Reply

  7. Trackback: Are cupcakes, knitting & gardening making women “soft”? « New Domesticity
  8. Trackback: My friend Rach « Being Sarah
  9. Trackback: Rachel and Sarah « Being Sarah

Leave a Reply

Copyright © 2011 by Can-Do Women. Images on this site are used for the express purposes of commentary and criticism under the fair use doctrine.
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

